‘Star Wars’ Spinoff Writer Say to “Expect Everything”

With the ‘Untitled Gareth Edwards Directed Star Wars Spin-Off‘ set to begin shooting this spring at Pinewood Studios in London, the films new writer Chris Weitz is speaking out about what fans can expect.

After replacing original screenwriter Gary Whitta, ‘Cinderella’ writer and ‘American Pie’ co-creator tells fans to expect everything from the upcoming ‘Star Wars’ standalone.

“They need to expect everything because it’s Star Wars. They have to. If I don’t do that I’m failing in my job.”

Weitz did not divulge any specifics about the plot but if we are to believe the “expect everything” part, current rumors swirling around the project are that it will focus on Han Solo, Boba Fett, space pirates and a mission to steal the Death Star plans. He also spoke about how Gary Whitta’s work still remains a vital part of the movie.

“I think it still is the core. In a weird way, it was like meeting for any assignment. Go in, talk about how you work and talk about the idea, but of course there was A) A huge security component to it. I wasn’t able to see the script until kind of after I was brought on board. And B) I saw Star Wars when I was 7 and it was a formative experience in my life, let alone in the notion of filmmaking…. I think in this case I’m not working from a whole cloth, right? So there’s a very strong structure from Gary’s work and that’s a huge advantage to me…It’s a director’s medium so it’s really about my making what Gareth needs to do his film.”

He also said that the script is not yet complete and that he knows what he wants from the film as a fan of Star Wars himself.

‘Untitled Gareth Edwards Directed Star Wars Spin-off’ comes to theaters on December 16th, 2016. The film is directed by Gareth Edwards.

What do you think?

