‘Alien’: Neill Blomkamp Talks Possibility of More Than One Movie

In an interview with Empire Magazine, ‘Chappie‘ director Neill Blomkamp teased that his new ‘Alien‘ movie may end up being more than one movie and that Ripley’s story isn’t quite finished yet.

“I’d come up with an idea, and when I met Sigourney on the set of ‘Chappie’,I presumed that she would never want to play Ripley again. Rightly or wrongly, I had that in my head. I also didn’t know where you could go with her, given ‘Alien 3 and 4′. So when I started speaking to her, I just wanted to know more about the process of making the first two films. The first two are the ones that I care about. Then I started to realize there was a whole film – at least a film, if not more – that still contained Ripley, which I was really surprised by.”

The director also went onto talk about his inspiration behind creating this world and building a new adventure for Ripley.

“I had a bunch of different ideas for different films. My favorite, on a gut instinct, artistic level, was Alien, by a long way. But I had this inhibiting mental roadblock about wanting to work on my own stuff, and not being held accountable, whether it’s by a studio or by fans, or whoever, I just wanted to be left alone to do my stuff. That’s kind of a big deal for me. I knew that my artistic compass kept driving me to Alien. Whenever I wasn’t needed on Chappie, I spent time on Alien, to the point where I hired my own concept artist and fleshed the entire movie out, basically. I saw Sigourney again, and her enthusiasm in it, and me still not knowing what I was doing… Well, the thing that actually made it really clear was that we have xenomorphs all over the house [including drinking glasses depicting graphic scenes from the films]. No bullshit, that actually is what made me realize that there’s a massive portion of my brain that’s taken up by the world of the xenomorph. And I’m like, ‘Hmm. Valid point.'”

What do you think?

