‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ Producer Dana Brunetti Talks Cast Salary Rumors

Famed ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ and ‘House of Cards’ producer Dana Brunetti is speaking out for the first time about the rumors circulating that Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan want more money for the next two ‘Fifty Shades’ movies.

In an interview with THR, the producer had some pretty strong oppinions the the salary rumors, saying that you have to start at the bottom before you get paid that much.

Look, when I was starting out and had to cut my teeth and build my résumé to get in, I had to basically work for free on a lot of things. I still take reductions in my fees for the opportunities to do certain things,” said Brunetti. “So I’m not going to cry for anybody who wants to be in this business just because a thing they were involved in did very well and they didn’t get paid [a lot]. That’s not the deal that you made. If it was, I’d have more than a couple Ferraris because all the money my films have made is f—ing insane. You’ve got to start somewhere.”

He also spoke about whether or not he thought the budget for ‘Fifty Shades Darker’ will be increased considering that ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ was such a huge hit, earning $547 million so far.

“I hope not. As a producer, I love the fact that we made it for as little as we did and it’s grossed as much as it has. I’ve been proud of that on all my films. Will the budget go up? Maybe if there’s renegotiations on deals and fees. But as far as the actual production is concerned, I don’t think so. We run pretty lean and mean.”

There have been rumors that Sam Taylor-Johnson will not be returning to direct the next installment and it looks like not even the producers know what is going on with the next film.

“No idea. We literally have no idea what we’re going to do. I have not even met with the studio or anybody yet about the second film. We always said, “Let’s get this first one out and released and then we’ll regroup and figure out what we’re going to do on the next.” That hasn’t happened yet.”

What do you think?

